Mopani District municipality is situated in the North-eastern part of the Limpopo Province, 70 km and 50km from Polokwane (main City of the Limpopo Province), along provincial roads R81 and R71 respectively.
It is located, on global view, between the Longitudes: 29 52E to 31 52E and Latitudes: 23 0S to 24 38S, with 31 E as the central meridian. It is located in the Degree square 2431 Topographical sheets.
It is bordered in the east by Mozambique, in the north, by Vhembe District Municipality through Thulamela & Makhado municipalities, in the south, by Mpumalanga province through Ehlanzeni District Municipality (Bushbuckridge, Thaba - Chweu and Greater Tubatse) and, to the west, by Capricorn District Municipality (Molemole, Polokwane & Lepelle - Nkumpi), in the south - west, b y Sekhukhune District Municipality (Fetakgomo).
The district spans a total area of 2 001 100 ha (20 011 km), inclusive of portion of Krug er National Park from Olifants to Tshingwedzi camps or Lepelle to Tshingwedzi rivers . There are 16 urban areas (towns and townships), 354 villages (rural settlements) and a total of 125 Wards.





 Sitemap   |    Disclaimer   |    Feedback
Physical Address: Government Building, Main Road, Giyani
Tel: 015 811 6300
  © 2014 Copyright by Mopani Municipality
All Rights Reserved